Shiro’s Gelato Beach Blush: pressed vs. powder

The two blushes I ordered

A couple weeks ago I mentioned my new found love of indies, when I made this post about the TAT and delivery times of the orders I’d had so far. I decided I’d press one of the blush samples I got (Gelato Beach) to see how it’d turn out and whether it changed its wear time, consistency, look or colour. Here’s what I found.

The pressed result

The pressed result

I chose an Essence blush pan I had lying around after depotting it for another experiment. The sample baggie was enough to cover the bottom of this (quite big) pan. I used alcohol 96ª and jojoba oil. I was surprised at how easily it pressed. I had to leave before I could press it so it isn’t as pretty as it could be but I’m pleased with the results. 

Powder swatch natural light

Powder swatch natural light

Powder swatch inside lighting

Powder swatch inside lighting

The powder version of this blush is quite intense. Sparkly, vivid, easy to overdo but very very pretty. 

Pressed swatch inside lighting

Pressed swatch inside lighting

Pressed swatch outside light

Pressed swatch outside light

The pressed version is less sparkly on the pan and swatched. I’m quite alright with this since I prefer matte blushes and I usually wear a highlighter under them anyway. It swatched easily and it turned out to be very creamy. It’s easier to work with and harder to overdo. 

Full face: pressed on left, powder on right side.

Full face: pressed on left, powder on right side.

I didn’t use the entire contents of the baggie. After the blush had sat overnight I wore it on one side of my face and, on the other, I used part of the powder blush I’d saved. My results were quite surprising: the glitter barely showed up on either side but both turned out to be a very flattering, very nice colour. A great summer colour! The powder side was slightly more intense but the pressed was easier to use. They both wore well for the day but they did fade slightly. It faded into a nice sun kissed colour though.

Overall I loved doing this! The product is great and the amount you get in a sample is very decent, especially for the price. 

4 comments

  1. I came across your post when I googled for cute eye frames! I love your blog!
    I was wondering what glasses youre wearing? I love these! I’m looking for a replacement and these are adorable 🙂

    Like

    1. Ha ha, thanks! I love them myself, they’re quite new (from this summer) and they’re Boss Orange. When I was trying a few pairs on, Boss had the best line out there. They’re really light and comfortable! Thanks for commenting and for being so nice :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

