Missha Super Aqua D-Tox Peeling Gel review

missha super aqua peeling gel

Missha Super Aqua Peeling Gel: Packaging

Hi, everyone! I’ve wanted to try a peeling gel as an alternative to harsher physical exfoliants for a while. I don’t think they’re as popular as other Asian beauty products when it comes to the Western markets (I usually see more reviews for sunscreen/moisturiser/essences/serums/etc) but this one had great reviews so I took the plunge! Here’s what I think about it.

First, I’d like to note the packaging. As usual with other Missha products, this one is beautifully sleek and practical. The cardboard exterior is sturdy enough to withstand postage and handling. The bottle itself feels light and fits well in my tiny-teensy hands, which is always a big plus for me (yes, I drop more stuff than I’d like to admit). I also like the dispensing method as it gives me enough product with just a couple squeezes to cover my entire face with minimal waste. All in all, a great package design and the colour is lovely too!

Missha Super Aqua Peeling Gel bottle

The bottle

Missha Super Aqua Peeling gel bottle

Opened

The biggest misgivings I often read about this type of product is their actual effectiveness. Basically, the general consensus leans towards the “they’re useless and tricking you”. Peeling gels are supposed to remove dead skin, just as a physical exfoliator would, and brighten up your complexion in the process. And to ensure you know that all that gunky dead skin is gone the gel flakes up in little “grits”. So, are those grits dead skin or just the product itself? Some bloggers make a big deal with the rubber glove test (which I’ve done with some saran wrap) saying that it’s mostly the product balling. My take is a bit different: if my skin was shedding that much on a bi-weekly basis I’d be quite worried, wouldn’t you?

My test is highly scientific (no). I used the same amount of product I usually put on my face and compared the results. You’ll see part of it is indeed the gel balling up but there is more substance when used on my hand (which felt amazingly soft after).

Missha Super Aqua Peeling Gel test

Two “squeezes” on my wrapped hand

Missha Super Aqua Peeling Gel

Spread out

I did the same on my bare hand:

Missha Super Aqua Peeling gel

Two “squeezes” on my bare hand

Missha Super Aqua Peeling Gel

Spread out

As you can see there is a little difference as the flakes or grits look more consistent. Also note I didn’t spread the gel as much as I could on account of using the same amount on my hand as I do on my face, so I guess I’d pick up more dead skin on my face. What I imagine is happening is between you massaging the skin with your fingers and the balled up product acting like a gentle scrub, you’re physically exfoliating.

Now, onto the product itself: there is a slight, but pleasant, fragrance. The gel feels cool and soothing on my skin, very gentle. I only use it once or twice a week, after cleansing, but I’m quite sure you could get away with a bit more if you needed to even though I wouldn’t really recommend it. My skin does brighten up a little bit and it feels much softer after. I don’t particularly like scrubs, especially when my skin has been acting up, so this is a very refreshing change. The only thing I dislike is how quickly it balls up and dries, so I have to kinda massage it area by area to work it evenly all over.

All in all, I’m very satisfied with this product, especially for the price. I bought it for ~11$ with free shipping on eBay. I’d recommend it to anyone who wants some light physical exfoliation but dislikes how strong scrubs can be. I’m quite on board with peeling gels in general! I’ve heard the Skin79 Crystal Peeling Gel is also very good so I’ll try that one after this (quite big bottle) runs out!

What do you all think?

Leave a Reply

