Possibly the best drugstore foundation

bourjois healthy mix serum 53

This is one of the first proper foundations I ever bought when I started to get into make up seriously. Consequently, I never knew how good it was until I bought other, more crummy ones. Foundation is one of those products that no matter what price point you go for, you’ll always find incredible duds and amazing finds. Some people find a 3€ foundation that works brilliantly and some will need to drop the big bucks to be happy. I’m an in-between.

I got this at Sephora for about 20, I think, but I know you can find it online for way cheaper (I’ve seen it at LookFantastic for around 12). My shade is a 53 (I’m a MAC NC20 for reference) and it’s a fairly good match.

bourjois healthy mix serum 53

The bottle is awesome. Fits well into your hand, travel friendly, sturdy, feels more expensive than it actually is. The coverage is light and I don’t find it builds up well. It’s not transfer-proof and you will need to set it with some powder, especially if you’re oily, and blot at around mid day. With a primer, it lasts very well and it oxidises very little.

It makes for a great every day foundation, in short. Something quick to slap on without much fuss (I’m looking at you, Face & Body). I apply it with my fingers and blend well with the Real Techniques face brush.

bourjois healthy mix serum 53 bourjois healthy mix serum 53 bourjois healthy mix serum 53 As you can see, it’s quite yellow toned. I read somewhere that it’s supposed to be a dupe for the Chanel Vitalumière Aqua and while I don’t believe that’s the case, it’s still a really nice foundation that works well, especially at that price point.

Have you tried this foundation? What did you think? 

Leave a Reply

